Advisory Boards

InTribology Strategy Board

The strategy board is a panel within the scope of the COMET K2 projectInTribology” that is independent of all InTribology partners and the competence centre. The strategy committee consists of 5 people, with two members being selected by the corporate and scientific partners in conjunction, two members by the shareholders of the centre for excellence and the fifth member by the four previously nominated members. This means that at least two members bring a scientific perspective to the strategy board , and at least two members bring an economic point of view.

The task of the strategy board is, on the one hand, to regularly evaluate the implementation of the research programme in accordance with the grant agreements and desired target criteria, and on the other, to make recommendations if differing viewpoints of the InTribology agreement partners on the interpretation of the rules in the agreement were to occur.

in alphabetical order of the surname

Dr. Mischler Stefano


Mischler Stefano

EPFL Lausanne (Switzerland)

Expert in surface analysis, tribocorrosion and coatings for tribosystems
Head of the tribology group at EPFL’s Metallurgical Chemistry Laboratory
Academic qualification: Materials Science (ETH Zurich), EPFL Lausanne.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. POLL Gerhard

Prof. Dr.-Ing.

Poll Gerhard

Leibniz University Hannover (Germany)

Expert in tribology with technical specialisation in the field of powertrains
Board member of the German Society for Tribology (GfT)
Academic qualification: Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Reynvaan Conrad


Reynvaan Conrad

Management consultant (Austria)

Board member at Schunk Hoffmann Carbon Technology until the end of 2016; prior to that, other positions in the industrial “technical carbon” sector; Expertise in tribology of carbon materials and in management; Academic qualification: Mathematics, Physics, and Biology; PhD in Theoretical Computer Science

Mag. Roither Michaela Diane​


Roither Michaela Diane

Federation of Industry of Lower Austria (Austria)

since 2005 Managing Director of the Federation of Austrian Industries of Lower Austria
Academic qualification: Business Administration

Mag. Schicker Barbara​


Schicker Barbara

Austrian Chamber of Commerce (Austria)

Advisor in the Association of the Metalworking Industry
Focus: Managing Director of the Surface Technology Working Group
Academic qualification: Law

InTribology Programme Committee

The programme committee is a panel within the COMET K2 framework programme InTribology. Every InTribology research project has at least one member in the programme committee, which supports the research area in the scientific orientation of the research projects. Preferably, these members are associated with the scientific partners.

The programme committee makes recommendations to the management of the centre for excellence regarding scientific orientation, new research projects, investment needs etc.

Programme committee members are:


Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing.

Carsten Gachot

Technische Universität Wien
Institute for Engineering Design and Logistics Engineering

Martina Marchetti-Deschmann Mag.a rer.nat. rer.nat.

Martina Marchetti-Deschmann

Technische Universität Wien
Head of the Research Group for Mass Spectrometric Bio- and Polymer Analysis


PrivDoz. Dr.rer.nat. Dipl.-Phys.

Andras Vernes

AC2T research GmbH
Scientific advisor in the field of multiscale modeling


Univ. Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

Peter Filzmoser

Technische Universität Wien
Institute of Statistics and Mathematical Methods in Economics


Univ. Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont.

Paul H. Mayrhofer

Technische Universität Wien
Institute of Materials Science and Technology

International Advisory Board

  • Prof. Patrick De Baets
    Ghent University, Dean of Faculty of Engineering and Architecture, Belgium
  • Prof. Daniele Dini
    Imperial College London, Faculty of Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering, UK 
  • Prof. Nuria Espallargas
    Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Faculty of Engineering, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, Norway
  • Prof. Patrick J.F. Groenen
    Dean of Erasmus School of Economic, Department of Econometrics, Professor of Statistics, Rotterdam, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Nicholas Spencer
    ETH Zurich, Department of Materials, Professor em. in Surface Engineering, Zurich, Switzerland
  • Prof. Margaret M. Stack
    University of Strathclyde, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Chair in Mechanical Engineering, Glasgow, UK
  • Prof. Erio Tossatti
    Scuola Internazionale Superiore di Studi Avanzati (SISSA) and International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), Italy


More information about the company

About Us

More information about the company


More information about our partners